Vedic Astrology is based on the idea that celestial bodies like stars and planets influence our lives. Planets are called Grahas, a name that conveys how they take hold of our lives.

There are nine Grahas, collectively called the Navagrahas, in Vedic astrology. They include the Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangal), Mercury (Budha), Jupiter (Brihaspati), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), Rahu, and Ketu. Rahu and Ketu are shadow planets and lunar nodes, where the orbital paths of the Sun and Moon intersect. They are malefic in nature.

The Vedas claim that each Graha influences a particular aspect of life. Also, each has a particular deity that rules it. The ultimate goal of human life is spiritual growth, and this growth occurs as a result of Karma, the premise that all thoughts and actions have corresponding reactions. We all experience Karma over many lifetimes as we undergo samsara, or the birth-death cycle. During each lifetime, we learn the lessons we need to grow and evolve spiritually.

It is the deities who rule the Navagrahas who deliver these karmic lessons, thereby enabling our spiritual development. 

In India, there are many temples for the Navagrahas, individually as well as collectively.



Navagraha Temples in Maharashtra


· Shri Anna Ganapati Navgraha Siddhapeetham is in Nasik, India. All the Navagrahas are in the temple (gabhara/garbhagudi) with their consorts.


· Another important Navagraha temple lies behind Shaniwar Wada. It is for Shani.


· The Navagraha Maruti temple is in Balaji Nagar.


· The Navagraha temple near Dapoli in Ratnagiri is a newly-built temple. The Shri Sainath Maharaj Trust, Dombivli( E ), Thane, owns this temple.


Navagraha Temple, Madhya Pradesh


There is an ancient Navagraha temple inside the Bada Ganpati Temple just behind Makaleshwar Temple towards the Harsidhhi temple in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh. Devotees do Parikrama of the Navagrahas and offer flowers/bilva patra during the Pooja.


Navagraha Temples in Tamil Nadu


Temples in Kumbakonam


These are a cluster of Navagraha temples that go back to the Chola dynasty. Legend says that Sage Kalava had some major health problems, as well as leprosy. He prayed to the Navagrahas for a cure. Pleased with his prayers, they offered to cure him. But Lord Brahma, who is responsible for creation, became angry. He felt that the Navagrahas had no right to offer boons to humans.


Brahma cursed the 9 planets with leprosy. They were also sent down to earth in Vellurukku Vanam. This was a jungle where Vellurukku, a white wild flower, grew in profusion. Today, the Suryanar Kovil stands here. The planets prayed to Shiva for relief from the curse. Shiva appeared before them and told them that the place belonged to them. Moreover, they could bless the devotees who came to worship them there.

 Each temple is in a different village. But Lord Shiva is the main deity in most of these temples. Only the Surya temple is dedicated to the planet. Only the Sun God and the other Grahas are worshipped here. While Surya is the main deity, the rest are attendant deities. It was constructed in the 11th or 12th century C.E. The other Navagraha shrines were built earlier and date back to the 7th-9th century. The temples are :


· Surya Navagrahasthalam — Suryanar Kovil


· Chandra Navagrahasthalam — Kailasanathar Temple, Thingaloor


· Angaarakan Navagrahasthalam — Vaitheeswaran Kovil


· Budha Navagrahasthalam — Thiruvenkadu


· Guru Navagrahasthalam — Alangudi


· Shukra Navagrahasthalam — Agnishwarar Temple, Kanjanur


· Shani Navagrahasthalam — Thirunallar Shaniswaran Temple


· Rahu Navagrahasthalam — Shri Naganathaswamy Temple, Thirunageshwaram


· Ketu Navagrahasthalam — Keezhperumpallam Temple


Navagraha Temples in Chennai


A similar cluster of Navagraha temples is found in Chennai, which was previously Thondai Nadu, in and around Kundrathur. They are :


· Agatheeswarar Temple – Suryan – Kolapakkkam


· Somanaadheeswarar Temple – Chandran – Somangalam


· Vaidheeswaran Temple – Angarakan – Poovirundhavalli( Poondhamalli)


· Sundareswarar Temple – Budhan – Kovur


· Ramanaadheeswarar Temple – Guru – Porur


· Velleeswarar Temple – Sukran – Mangadu


· Agatheeswarar Temple – Shaniswaran – Pozhichalur


· Neelakandeswarar Temple – Kethu – Gerugambakkam


· Nageshwarar Temple – Rahu – Kundrathur


Navagraha Temple in Uttar Pradesh


There is a Navagraha Temple at Allahabad in Uttar Pradesh. It was built by Shri Patharchatti Ram Lila Committee in Allahabad and was opened to the public in 2012. It is in Rambagh.


Navagraha Temple, Assam


This temple lies on top of Chitrasal Hill (Navagraha Hill) in Guwahati. There are nine Shivalingams here, each covered with a colored cloth that symbolizes each of the celestial bodies. A tenth Shivalingam stands in the center representing the Sun.


The Ahom king, Rajeswar Singha, built this temple in the late 18th century. It has been renovated recently.



Navagraha Mantra


“Adityaya Somaya Mangalaya BhudayachaGuru Shukra Shanibhyascha Rahave Ketave Namaha”


This is a common Mantra for all the Navagrahas. By chanting it, you can seek their blessings. Chanting Navgraha Beej mantras can promote your overall well-being. By chanting these Mantras regularly, you can reduce the adverse effects of the 9 planets in your horoscope. They can boost the positive impact of the planets, too. You can also chant the Navagraha Stotram for similar benefits.


Navagraha Stotra


Navagraha Dhyana Shlokam :


aadityaaya cha somaaya mangalaaya budhaaya cha !


Guru shukra shanibhyashcha raahave ketave namah !!




japaakusuma sankaasham kaashyapeyam mahaadyutim !


Tamoriyam sarva paapaghnam pranatosmi divaakaram !!




dathishagna tushaaraabham ksheeraarnava samudbhavam !


Namaami shashinam somam shambhor-makuta bhooshanam !!




dharanee garbha sambhootam vidyutkaanti samaprabham !


Kumaaram shakti hastam tam mangalam pranamaamyaham !!




priyangu kalikaashyaamam roopenaa pratimam budham !


Soumyam satva gunopetam tam bhdham pranamaamyaham !!




devanaam cha rusheenaam cha gurum kaanchana sannibham !


Buddhimantam trilokesham tam namaami bruhaspatim !!




himakunda mrunaalaabham daityaanam paramam gurum !


Sarvashaastra pravaktaaram bhaargavam pranamaamyaham !!




neelaanjana samaabhaasam raviputram yamaagrajam !


Dhaaayaa maartaanda sambhootam tam namaami shanaishcharam !!




arthakayam mahaaveeram chandraaditya vimarthanam !


Simhikaa garbha sambhootam tam raahum pranamaamyaham !!




falasa pushpa sankaasham taarakaagrahamastakam !


Roudram roudraatmakam ghoram tam ketum pranamaamyaham !!


Phalasruti :


iti vyaasa mukhodgeetam yah pathetsu samaahitah!


Divaa vaa yadi vaa raatrou vighna shaantirbhavishyati !!


nara naaree nrupaanaam cha bhave ddusvapnanaashanam !


Ishvaryamatulam teshaamaarogyam pushti varthanam !!


graha nakshatrajaah peedaa staskaraagni samudbhavaah !